PDA

View Full Version : Bull or a cow moose?!?

birdhunter
12-03-2011, 12:15 PM
I am a resident here in Wyoming and knowing how long it takes to draw a bull tag, I was wondering if it would be worth it to just put in for a cow tag. I have 4 pts and am 32 yrs old. It may take till I am 70 before I draw a bull tag. I would love a bull but would also have a blast hunting a cow as well. I am a meat hunter so it really wouldnt bother me to hunt a cow. What are some of your thoughts and input on this. It is just getting too difficult to draw a bull tag in this state.

floorya
12-03-2011, 03:52 PM
if you dont care about antlers then go for a cow tag and have a good hunt. and help the rest of us out with one less person in the bull draw.;)

Stig87
12-03-2011, 07:29 PM
If you are strictly a meat hunter, I don't understand why you would hold out for a bull tag. Without pulling up drawing odds, I think you could realistically pull a cow tag every four years. So I would take the a cow tag and run.

Ikeepitcold
12-03-2011, 08:33 PM
I would go for the cow also if your a meat hunter. For the same reason as the others.

birdhunter
12-04-2011, 12:22 AM
I am a wyo resident floorya so I wouldn't mess up your draw odds. Stig, it would be at least a 7 year wait minimum(more like 9 now) with the five year wait after a person draws a tag. I hunt for meat but it would be very fun to hunt a bull moose. I just think I might be too old when I am able to draw to chase them around. it's a tough decision. I have at least 2 to3 more years to draw a cow in the area I want so I will look at draw odds when I feel I have a chance at a cow.

floorya
12-04-2011, 11:24 AM