PDA

View Full Version : Lightweight Hunting Boots?

graybird
02-15-2012, 10:59 AM
I need to purchase a pair of light weight hunting boots. I've been wearing a pair of Rocky boots for a few years now, but they are no longer water proof. I prefer something that is uninsulated with a soft sole.

I've been looking at the following boots: Danner Pronghorn GTX, Danner Jackal II GTX, Kenetrek Hardscrabble Hiker, Hanwag Banks GTX and Hanwag Cheyenne GTX.

Any thoughts or comments about the above boots, or another I haven't listed, is much appreciated.

Brocka
02-15-2012, 11:24 AM
I myself am in the same boat, I'm torn between the Pronghorn & the Under Armour Ridge Reaper. I was impressed with how light the UA boot is. Have you checked that out?

graybird
02-15-2012, 01:15 PM
I myself am in the same boat, I'm torn between the Pronghorn & the Under Armour Ridge Reaper. I was impressed with how light the UA boot is. Have you checked that out?

I have not looked at the Under Armour boot. Guess I'd better add another to the list.

Thanks for the suggestion!

Colorado Cowboy
02-15-2012, 01:29 PM
I have the Danner Pronghorn and it is a great boot. Very comfortable from the getgo.

labman
02-15-2012, 02:03 PM
Lowa Tibet Pro GTX

Brocka
02-15-2012, 02:28 PM
I have not looked at the Under Armour boot. Guess I'd better add another to the list.

Thanks for the suggestion!

Hey no problem, So far I am pretty impressed with my other UA gear and I haven't really heard anything bad about the boots yet, I am pretty sure its their first boot so i am guessing there will be a few things that get changed for next years models but so far they look/feel to be a quality product.

FieldNStream
02-15-2012, 05:32 PM
Check out cabelas Ultralight hunting boot by meindl, 800 gram thinsulate available, 3.2 lbs. $220.00 bought a pair last year and I love how comfortable they are.

backstraps
02-15-2012, 09:59 PM
Some of the above mentioned are not very (light weight).