PDA

View Full Version : GPS Questions

IL Hntr
03-05-2011, 07:41 PM
A friend and I are getting ready to head to Colorado for our first elk hunt this year. I don't own a GPS and I'm looking for a little help. I would like one with a color screen so I can load 1:24,000 maps with land ownership overlays. I have found good reviews on the Garmin 60Csx and they have come down a lot in price. I have also been looking at the new Oregon 550t but it is pricey.

Is the screen big enough on the 60Csx to work well with the 1:24,000 maps? Do any of you have any recommendations on where to buy these detailed maps (huntinggpsmaps.com, huntersmaps.com, kmlers.com)? I'm new to the GPS world so any advice is greatly appreciated.

robsev
03-06-2011, 09:26 AM
I own a Garmin 76 and I really like it. I have owned 3 Garmins and haven't had a problem with any. I carried one for a year in Iraq and never once got lost. I'm not familiar with the 60 but I'm sure it would work great. There is a Public Land Boundary Topo Map GPS card that has really good reviews. I'm going to purchase one this spring. I found it on longrangehunting.com

shed
03-10-2011, 05:30 PM
I was at sportsman wharehouse 6-7 weeks ago and they had the oregons discounted because of a new model coming out.

Roboz
03-10-2011, 09:38 PM
Take a look at the Magellan explorist 610 or 710, they have built in topo maps and land ownership in the summit series maps. I am waiting on mine to get here, i will let you know how it works.

jhpam3117
03-12-2011, 12:50 PM
I have the Garmin etrex vista (color screen) and it has never let me down after several years of use.

307Wapiti
03-12-2011, 03:04 PM