PDA

View Full Version : Backpack hunting D7

Red 1
03-26-2012, 12:41 PM
Does anyone have any suggestions for a public land hunt in D7? I don't have any vacation this year so I will only have long weekends -- 3 or 4 days at a time to hunt. This is my first year backpack hunting. I will use this year to check my preprations and physical training to see if I'm on track for longer trips in the future.

Kevin Root
03-26-2012, 02:20 PM
I've backpacked in the Dinkey Lakes Wilderness and the John Muir Wilderness, mostly just to trout fish though in D7. There is some awesome and beautiful country back in there. 3-4 days at a time is awesome. If you can do some trips, 3-4 days at a time to scout prior to hunting season, I'll gather you will learn your areas well and it also helps in the conditioning for backpack hunting. The more your able to do it, the more comfortable you will be out there.

Have you called anybody in the Fish and Game to ask about general deer density counts or see what they say to pointing you to an area out in the zone? I've found the Fish and Game is pretty helpful in at least point out some general areas to start.

Best wishes and success to you on your coming D7 hunt!

Red 1
03-26-2012, 02:38 PM
Thanks Kevin. I have not yet contacted fish and game, I will here real soon

Graylight
03-26-2012, 03:00 PM
You should have a good time... If I were you, I would get above timber and work the granite basins... The bucks do hang out in bachelor groups up there and there's no reason why you shouldn't be able to hang a tag on one with a bit of effort... I have worked pretty hard to find a few areas up there that have animals in them and I can tell you, they are there 100%... I have not gone back because I keep going to Colorado...