PDA

View Full Version : Horses, Mules , Donkeys and gear?

Edelweiss
04-01-2012, 03:15 AM
I have been overseas with the military for the majority of my career, and now that we are headed back to Wyoming (don't know where yet), I want to hunt the wilderness areas horseback.

What saddles are you guys using, and what panyard systems and so on?

Where is a good place to go for back country tack?

Looks like the prices on quality mules are high, and I don't have a lot of mule experience.

We used to have our share of BLM Burros that guarded our sheep at night when I was younger. Kind of like a tall dog that eats grass.

Was thinking of trying to find some Norwegian Fjord mares (2 or 3) and a mammoth donkey jack. Eventually having our own mule program. Then again I have zero experience around mules. So maybe not.

(I am about 20 months from moving so if your selling horses can you please wait till I get back. I don't even know where I am going to be living.)

Elkoholic307
04-01-2012, 10:29 AM
I usually ride in my Circle Y; I love it.

There's a really nice tack shop in Frannie, WY.

chad
04-01-2012, 10:31 AM
As far as panniers go I buy from Davis tent in Colorado. They have about anything for packing. They are resonable prices too. They have a pannier that is really tough. Can't think of what it's called now but check out their site. I bought a wall tent from them too. Good people.

Bitterroot Bulls
04-01-2012, 01:40 PM
You can also consider renting horses. I have stock, and have also rented. The rental stock actually did very well for me. As far as tack goes, I prefer the standard decker packsaddle with traditional bars rather than "improved" bars. It is harder to manny stuff onto the "improved" version, IMO. The traditional bars are just as easy to hang panniers off, too.

Drelk
04-01-2012, 03:13 PM
Renting stock from Wyoming horses has worked well for my group. The horses are not perfect but most are pretty damn good.