PDA

View Full Version : Topo Maps

Coloradokiwi
03-16-2011, 04:32 PM
Giday,

I am in the process of trying to figure out how to locate potential elk holding areas using 7.5 min topo maps.
I figure water is an obvious place to start with feed close by.
I am new to elk hunting so any tips or advice would be much appreciated.
Cheers.
CK.

Sharpstick
03-17-2011, 10:59 AM
Water is a great indicator of elk and they like dark timber for the afternoon naps. Water, quakies and pine are generally a great mixture for a good elk location. Also, getting off the beaten path is probably just as important as well. Find some spots on your topo map that look promising and then use Google Earth to study the drainage even closer for types of vegetation, water sources and clearings.

goatpoop
03-17-2011, 05:50 PM
Look for ridges, elk love ridges especially during warm weather. A nice trick with google earth is that you can change between terrain and satellite images. Look for isolated openings away from any kind of road. Good luck!

sticknbiggens
03-18-2011, 01:50 AM
this is a good thread, I'd like to hear some tips too.

RUTTIN
03-19-2011, 02:11 PM
One of the best ways, is to start with your map, lace up your boots and hit a few of these spots as soon as you can get into the country to look for sign from the previous year. Rubs, wallows, feeding areas and beds. You can also get in a good workout while your at it.

sticknbiggens
03-21-2011, 02:17 AM
Let's talk feeding areas, what are you guys looking for? I've got some of the puzzle put together for a area i hunt, just can't seem to find a feeding area. It sure has everything thing else though. I need some more time in the woods!

RUTTIN
03-22-2011, 08:29 AM
Stickn- most of the areas I have been hunting the elk are feeding in the bottoms on the lush grasses. There is water there and small open parks to feed in. Then they start back up to bed for the day before or at first light.

sticknbiggens
03-25-2011, 05:56 PM