PDA

View Full Version : What would you do?

velvetfvr
09-15-2012, 09:37 AM
I am a sophomore in HS and my buddies all play football and are begging me to play next year. I would but it interferes with archery season. So I am asking others for their opinions. I will talk to coach before the conditioning starts next year and see if I can get a couple days off. It will take away from scouting but the conditioning will make climbing the hills even easier. So would you play and miss archery for a year or too or not? I only have 1 more junior tag left before the main draw for deer.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Caseyu
09-15-2012, 10:21 AM
been in those same shoes! you have your entire life to hunt. you have two football seasons! have fun with your friends you will still get to hunt, just maybe not as much as you want, but who cares you have a lot of hunting ahead of you :) go out there and hit some people!

NDHunter
09-15-2012, 11:28 AM
I agree 100% with Casey and was also in that situation. Unless you are absolutely terrible I would play ball. Although I feel like the coach will say that if you take some days off for scouting, he won't play you. At least that's what my coach would have said. Being on the football team is a lot of fun. Also, depending on how good you are and what your high school is like, I have 2 words for you: jersey chasers.

Colorado Cowboy
09-15-2012, 12:22 PM
I was in the same situation in HS, but my Dad told me I have the rest of my life. Stayed with FB and got to be pretty good, got a scholorship to a major Southern California university. Got me a wonderful education and a great career. Still hunting at 70.
Work at it and you never know!

wapiti66
09-15-2012, 12:32 PM
I agree with all above. Play football, I too got a scholarship for football and that sure makes going to college easier. You will still be able to hunt your entire life, but playing football is a short time frame in life.

velvetfvr
09-15-2012, 12:39 PM