PDA

View Full Version : Whats the best gps on the market, they seem to have came along way, recently

BuckeyeDIY
03-19-2011, 07:14 PM
Im wanting something that shows topo/satelite images/public land boundaries, if there is such a thing.

bullelk
03-19-2011, 09:37 PM
I bought the Garmin ORegon 400 and it has the topos, but not satellite images. It is a great unit.

BuckeyeDIY
03-20-2011, 06:20 PM
BullElk im gad you posted that, cause Im looking into the Oregon550. On Ebay the pics appear to look like satelite images,or is that just a realy detailed map. Thank you for answering my thread, I hope to hear from you more about it.

shed
03-20-2011, 07:12 PM
I have been researching this for a few months now. So far the Garmin62st looks to be the best on the market for my needs. No camera on it, but I always have one with me, so it is not needed. Pricey gps but it looks like the bugs are out of it now.

bullelk
03-20-2011, 07:37 PM
Mine is actually the 450, which has the maps downloaded, but not camera. I chose this model because I didn't need the camera, but wanted the topos. Since I just got it I haven't done much experimenting, but I downloaded all my waypoints from my very old Garmin 12, and they are now marked on the maps of the new unit. I did use the tracking feature once this winter on a lion hunt and it worked well. I think I am going to be very pleased with the unit, because I rely on gps technology and topos to get around here in Idaho quite a bit. There is also a 3D feature so if you are travelling in the mountains you can actually see the terrain on the map that you can see on your horizion.

jenbickel
03-20-2011, 11:56 PM