PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of tossing it in on the points.

Edelweiss
12-17-2012, 05:30 AM
I am still overseas until the end of next year, I have 2 or 3 points for Wyoming's sheep/moose program and 1 point in Utah, Nevada and Arizona.

I am almost 40.

I have a rare blood disease and probably won't see 60. So far I am the 2nd oldest living person in my family history with the disease. No pity you bastards! I have lived more than anyone I know!

Seriously, what are the my odds on sheep/moose Wyoming and so on.

Is it worth $1000 a year to feed these 4 states? I am not 10 points in or I wouldn't even consider throwing it away, I got pissed at Wyoming when they changed it to $100, and as I am an Alaska resident, and not my Wyoming home I said "screw you guys I am going home".

Well in 2011 I started thinking, maybe I should get back in this. Did "some" research and bought points, and last year I bought points in AZ, Nevada and Utah.

Honestly, what would you do?

Would you quit sending out $1000 not to hunt, or would you keep buying points?

I can hunt 99% percent of what I want to hunt in my lifetime for under $10,000. I know it doesn't make sense financially I just need someone else to hug me and tell me I am doing the right thing.

I screwed up and quit playing the Wyoming sheep game in the beginning, and I regret it now. As I would be max points for both.

thanks,

Edelweiss
12-17-2012, 05:59 AM
Here's my self affirmation.

My priorities in life are mountain goats, pronghorns and elk in that order. Everything else is gravy.

Unless I decide because of a lack of job prospects to go to gradschool when I retire, and I can find a reasonable paying job we should have enough dough (I am hoping anyway) to afford 1 or 2 Canada/Foreign hunts a year.

Last year in Utah and Arizona, bought points for everything, with the hopes of one day drawing a big antelope area. But realistically elk and antelope in Arizona are like sheep tags in Wyoming.