PDA

View Full Version : Nevada Archery Deer

Calbuck
03-01-2013, 10:46 PM
Ok, gurus..tell me what my NON RESIDENT odds of drawing a Nevada deer tag might be. I know it can take many years to pick up a late rifle hunt tag. I'm interested in rifle and archery but leaning toward archery as my only real chance at hunting in Nevada sooner rather than later. Any thoughts/ideas/tips to draw a northern Nevada tag would be welcome. This forum has been relatively dead and I'd like to see some activity that may help me decide where/when to hunt. I have some limited knowledge of our X zones here in California if anyone is interested in trading info.

Drhorsepower
03-01-2013, 10:55 PM
I'm interested in some x zone material. What zones are you talking about?

Calbuck
03-01-2013, 11:07 PM
I've spent some time hunting in X1 and X4. I have some limited knowledge of X3A and X3B. Know a little about the X5's. There are some good bucks to be had in Cali, they're tough to find and hunt though. Persistence pays off in this state..I'm sure that's true of any place a person hunts though! Compared to other states, I don't know if hunting in California is any different or not. :confused:

Drhorsepower
03-01-2013, 11:23 PM
If you are willing to hike, the rubys seem to be a hotspot. Archery is your best shot at a tag there.

Ikeepitcold
03-02-2013, 07:12 AM
Rubys is a great spot. Cam Hanes took a great buck in there a few years ago. I've hunted by the Rubys with rifle back when I was a road/meat hunter. There are some big bucks there. You just need to get high and away from the other hunters. The deer are only there in the summer and move out before rifle season so you def want to try and get a Archery tag.

Bwht4x4
03-02-2013, 08:52 AM
Calbuck,

Do you have any NV points?

Calbuck
03-02-2013, 10:08 AM