PDA

View Full Version : New to Colorado Muleys Looking for Insight

rindog
03-09-2013, 11:26 PM
This is my first year to enter the draw for CO muleys. I moved to CO from TX last year, and I am officially now a CO resident. I'm used to hunting deer on private land sitting in a deer blind. I'm eager to get out the hiking boots and really hunt.

Any general suggestions on hunting areas I should target or even avoid? I'm not looking for a monster buck, just a good opportunity at something respectable. More importantly I'm interested in seeing and learening what CO is about.

Areas with large muley populations sound good, but on the other hand I hear they can be over run with hundreds (if not thousands) of hunters. I'm an avid hiker and not affraid to head into the back country if it means avoiding the masses. I'm prepared to scout during the summer and really brake the boots in.

There's so much info out there, I'm not even sure what's realiable, more less where to start. Any helps is good help. Thanks in advance.

DEADON500
04-08-2013, 03:20 PM
RINDOG
Believe it or not--there's prbly more trophy mule deer in eastern Colorado plains than anywhere else in the state. Best of luck!

BKC
04-08-2013, 04:15 PM
Deadon500, That was his first post and you let the cat out of the bag! Shame on you.

Old Hunter
04-08-2013, 09:54 PM
First thing you're going to learn is units with good mule deer hunting will require some points. Elk tags are much easier to get. You might consider hunting for elk while building some deer points. 3/4 of the state you can get an OTC tag for elk. There's no OTC tags for deer.

norcalhunter
04-08-2013, 10:31 PM
I would grab an elk tag otc archery or 2nd, 3rd season and do some deer scouting. Put in for some top deer units and get a point or a great hunt. Look at the MRS.

Colorado Cowboy
04-09-2013, 08:20 AM