PDA

View Full Version : Hunters and the NRA

Colorado Cowboy
03-14-2013, 07:24 AM
The recent explosion of anti gun bills here in Colorado and an article in the Denver Post got me thinking ....bad thing to do! The DP's article basically said that hunters don't support and belong to the NRA. I know lots of the participants on this forum are bow hunters and might not have any reason to be an NRA member, there are also lots of us gun hunters that are.

I have been a Endowment Life Member for over 50 years and support the NRA by attending all the local Friends of the NRA banquets. I am also a certified NRA Instructor and Range Safety Officer. The DP story really burned me when the author interviewed 2 hunters who were not NRA members and then made the assumption and statement that most hunters arn't NRA members and don't support their effort against gun legislation. I wrote him a reply and basically told him he was full of crap.

How many of you (us) are NRA members?

HeartElk1
03-14-2013, 07:43 AM
Life Member here.

shootbrownelk
03-14-2013, 07:47 AM
Life member here.

wapiti66
03-14-2013, 08:09 AM
Member. Denver Post is like too many other big newspapers....very liberal based in my opinion.

Murdy
03-14-2013, 08:12 AM
Member as well.

Fink
03-14-2013, 08:39 AM
I'm a member, not a life member, although I probably should be. I know quite a few hunters, both gun and bow, that are not NRA members.

From a strict numbers standpoint, I suppose he would be correct, as there are somewhere in the realm 70 million firearms, and about 45 million hunters in the US, and at best, the NRA has 4.5 million members. But..... While they are not members, I would venture to say that many 'support' the NRA

Never in Doubt
03-14-2013, 09:35 AM
I'm not a member, but some of my hunting buddies are. They pay their money, wear the bumper stickers, have the signs in their yards, and get all kinds of crap spam mail asking for more money.

cali_hornhunter
03-14-2013, 09:37 AM
Life Member here :)