PDA

View Full Version : Area 45 Archery only

ngallagher
07-09-2011, 10:40 AM
I drew an archery only tag for elk area 45. This is my first year archery hunting, and first year hunting that area. I'm wondering if anyone has any tips for getting into elk in this area. I went up towards Buck Mountain/Soldier Creek area and saw a pretty good herd of 20-30 elk. Even though the season is a month+ away, seeing elk up there is exciting. My guess is they won't be in that same area when September rolls around. I appreciate any information that anyone has to offer about this area.

Thanks

jenbickel
07-09-2011, 10:42 AM
This may be a dumb question, but what state?

ngallagher
07-09-2011, 10:52 AM
The only dumb part is that I forgot to say what state. It is Wyoming. I guess I assumed that everyone hunts in WY :)

jenbickel
07-09-2011, 11:05 AM
lol I figured that's what you meant.. Haha but I figured I would ask first.. I didnt want to start naming off places and then you ask me WTH I'm talking about.. I have seen pretty good elk in previous years in the Hyattville area. If you go outside of Hyattville there is an old logging road and its pretty good. Also, South Brokeback has pretty good elk also. I watch the area usually pretty closely because I shed hunt a lot over there. I havent watched it this year though, I drew a 38 tag so I need to start watching there!

jenbickel
07-09-2011, 11:10 AM
One of my friends has a 45 tag also so if I hear them talk about seeing some good bulls, I will let you know the whereabouts :)

ngallagher
07-09-2011, 01:28 PM
Thank you so much for the info. Another friend of mine mentioned Hyattville also. I will look into those areas you mentioned. There is so much country over there. It's kind of overwhelming. Thanks again, and good luck in 38.

woodz
07-10-2011, 07:26 PM