Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Pack Size

Hybrid View

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 0 Times in 0 Posts

Pack Size

If your wanting to do 10 day+/- hunt what size of pack should I be looking for? I'm new to this style of hunting so I having a hard time getting a starting point to go with. Any advice, tips, or anything else would be greatly appriecated.

Thanks,
    newguy220

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 3 Times in 1 Post
    I would start at 5000 C.I. (if you go ultralight), and go up from there. 10 days is a long time livin' off your back.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Bitterroot Bulls For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Bitterroot Bulls View Post
    I would start at 5000 C.I. (if you go ultralight), and go up from there. 10 days is a long time livin' off your back.
    BB is right about 10 days. I have horses and 10 days is a ton of time even with them. Do yourself a favor and plan for 2-4 1/2 day hunts. You will be better off and the day off will recharge the batteries

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 3 Times in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by BKC View Post
    BB is right about 10 days. I have horses and 10 days is a ton of time even with them. Do yourself a favor and plan for 2-4 1/2 day hunts. You will be better off and the day off will recharge the batteries
    Excellent advice, BKC.

We don't do 10 at a time (very often anyway) when we are heading in on horseback either. "Recharge the batteries" ... I like that.

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 3 Times in 2 Posts
    I'd go 6k minimum for the fact of 10 days worth of food is going to take more room then one would think. That's my .02 cents that ain't even worth a penny.

7. The Following User Says Thank You to Drhorsepower For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Congratulations