Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 0 Times in 0 Posts

searching for public land to call my area

Hi everyone i'm new to the western hunting and i have big dreams of all big game. i elk hunted few times even took a nice 6x6 with my revolver at 20 yards but i have been using guides and i'm looking to find a area on some public land somewhere i can get to know and not use any more guides and i don't want to wast money just ventureing out onto land that doesn't have what i'm looking for. One way i want to approach this idea is to 1 use the MRS to find decent hunting 2 scout out this area i'm going to commit to by camping during the hunt season to see how the animals will be moving during the hunt season. and if i can get a otc tag that would be a big plus. and to the people on here with much back country skill. does this sound like a good plan to start calling a place my place to hunt or should i stay more move able season to season.

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 5 Times in 4 Posts
    You could go the OTC approach, if so you should be able to get an OTC type tag every year in WY, MT or CO.

If you have hunted with outfitters and have a budget for higher priced tags, landowner tags in NM or CO would be hard to beat for quality, and high success. New Mexico would be hard to beat.

Personally I apply for limited entry tags in multiple states. These are all for hunts that have historically had high hunter success and high trophy quality.

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Quote Originally Posted by Umpqua Hunter View Post
    You could go the OTC approach, if so you should be able to get an OTC type tag every year in WY, MT or CO.

If you have hunted with outfitters and have a budget for higher priced tags, landowner tags in NM or CO would be hard to beat for quality, and high success. New Mexico would be hard to beat.