Hybrid View

Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 0 Times in 0 Posts

Spot and stalk bear

hey guys,
    I am really new to hunting bears in the spring. I have not given it much time in the past but I am really jacked up about the opportunity this year. What sort of areas do I need to concentrate on? I have read that south facing clear cuts with grass seem to be productive areas, but I am really not sure how to best identify good bear habitat. I elk and deer hunt somewere around 40-50 days a fall, all on foot so I understand how to put hard work and time into this. Any information is much appreciated.

I live in the north central part of the state. Thanks for any info.

Kyle

Thanks
    Congratulations
    The reason you are reading about south facing grazing lands is for two reasons. Most north facing slopes are covered in snow well up until the spring season is closing. And the north slopes have less grasses.
    Both have good hunting options though.
    Bears need grasses, onion shoots, and dandelions to eat when they first come out of hibernation to help settle the acids in their digestive tracks from their long sleep. Once they get enough of this, they can handle just about any food they find. That being said, a bear will eat what it finds first though in most cases. South facing slopes will have less winter kill on them by the time bears get up, because of the sun exposing the kills, other scavengers have more than likely cleaned up the carcass.
    North facing slopes are typically more timbered, and hold the snow packs and winter kills longer. Bears have amazing noses, and can root about finding even the slightest wiffs of a dead animal to eat. They can be found digging about in snow drifts sometimes trying to dig out something they have found.