Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Thanks
    Congratulations
    Congratulated 0 Times in 0 Posts

Help me choose a rifle scope

Here's my situation. I am going to be new to western hunting and am planning all the gear I think I need. One of the most fun things for me is going to be planning and setting up some rifles for trips. I am currently a whitetail hunter here in MN and WI and have some rifles. I know I will need tons of other gear but I have a few loose ends to tie up on guns/scopes. I'm new to some of the higher end optics and am wanting some opinions from folks in the know. I used to work at a gun shop and we sold mostly pentax, burris, simmons, swift, bushnell, and other middle of the road stuff. I currently own stuff in the category of Pentax lightseeker, burris signature, and the like, $400-$800 range. I have not bought a gun or optics in a few years, and I plan on doing a pronghorn hunt in the next couple of years, followed by deer primarily thereafter and an elk hunt or two down the road in quite a few years. I foresee working up to shooting longer ranges but only talking to max 400-500 yds, so not planning on true long range hunting or need for advanced reticle/turret systems for this next scope. I will outline what I currently have below.

Sako 75 25-06 - no scope (had a Burris Eurodiamond on it but didn't like it and its been un-scoped in the safe for years)

Winchester 70 270 WSM with a Burris signature 4-16x (I am inclined to leave this alone to deer hunt with at home)

Ruger M77 25-06 old style with tang safety and semi heavy barrel and Pentax lightseeker 2-8x
    - this needs some stock work to free float the barrel and I have a timney trigger for it I have been sitting on for years since it is sort of my "loaner" deer rifle that I have for guests, kind of going to leave this alone for now too